Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!
Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!

When teenagers Nicole and Amy save a child from a freak wildfire, they unwittingly trigger a bizarre sequence of events. In the following days, Nicole finds herself caught up in more extraordinary happenings, until she is forced to confront the startling truth about herself: She has the power to give life or take life from every living thing around her.

 

by Patrick Wong

 

I really enjoyed this self-published work and could not put the story down. I’m excited to read more from this new series! Mr. Wong wrapped up enough of the story to make it satisfying but also left enough mystery to leave me anticipating what’s to come. While the story does not focus on Nicole’s “powers” for a while, there is still enough mystery and mayhem to keep you turning the pages with enthusiasm. 

I loved the historical tie in with the Fountain of Youth. I do not read a lot of stories around this myth, and I enjoyed the ideas presented about “balancers.” Great exploration into the myth and its origin. However, I’m not sure how this relates to the first part of the book title: “The Last Deity.” This must be something to come in the next stories.

The main character, Nicole, is well-rounded and very likeable. She’s smart and empathetic. I think all the characters in the book worked well together to advance the storyline. The teenagers are mindful of their actions and do not act stupidly, which I appreciated. I found a lot of that happening in “Divergent,” which I was less impressed with because of how the characters acted in that book. 

I thought the way Nicole explored and used her powers was fascinating. From the pencil drawings to the feathers to the bulbs lighting to threading the needle (you’ll get it when you read it), it was a great device to illustrate how Nicole’s abilities worked and how she was able to focus and control her powers.

Mr. Wong puts in many different plot threads, and I really enjoyed how they came together. This book is not focused on one element. It’s a book about character development more than extraordinary events. It explores how these events are dealt with by different character personalities in the book. 

The pace of the book is great. The author is not afraid to take time to develop the plot threads. I really liked everything included in the book and the story climax. If anything, I wanted more historical visions, but the few used were intentionally and effectively placed. The story has some great emotional moments that resonate. It was fun, fascinating, and exciting. Excellent plot, characters, and historical foundations! 

Mr. Wong, you need to write book 2 right now! I cannot wait to find out more about this “balancer” world and what Nicole learns next about her abilities! Get going man! I’m a big fan of this book and where the series is headed! 

My novels:

Just released December 2016: "The Forgotten" volume 2 "Heir of the Heretic"

Reviewed and awarded the

2016 Indie Editor's Choice

by the Historical Novel Society.

Long listed for the Historical Novel Society 2017 Indie Award.

Reviewer for:

Historical Novel Society Volunteer

NetGalley Professional Reader

25 Book Reviews
Challenge Participant

Top Goodreads Reviewer

my read shelf:
J. Else's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
J. has read 27 books toward her goal of 63 books.
hide

Goodreads profile at: https://www.goodreads.com/JElse

Print Print | Sitemap
© Jessi Hafeman