Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!
Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!

Dark Roses for the Grave of Andersen

This collection of entertaining stories were written in the tradition of older fairy tales such as The Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen. It contains "The Unicorn And The Lovelorn Knight" in which a unicorn falls in love with a human, "The Little Skeleton" wherein a little girl continues to dance after her death, "The Wine Of Good Humor"--a tale of a soldier who chances upon a magic bottle of wine that grants good humor to any who drink of it. Readers will be enthralled at the caste of characters, the original story lines and the return to the archetypal fairy tale style

 

by Rod Starcke 

 

An enchanting collection of stories that just keeps getting better and better the more you read. Each story is full of fairy tale wonder with a flash of darkness running throughout. While the darkness brings out a rich beautiful quality, it should be noted that the book is for older kids. And while not every story ends happily, Starcke does end them satisfactorily.

Starcke tackles questions we all struggle with such as the importance of beauty, wanting to be accepted, searching for love, understanding spirituality, the ties of friendship, and loyalty. Plus, each story keeps you thinking long after you've finished.

Full of meaning and enchantment, these stories are well crafted in the style of the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen. They can be read over and over. Its hard to choose a favorite, but I believe the last three spoke to me the most. When I started reading the book, I could not put it down. I look forward to experiencing the magic contained in these pages again.

Comments

There are no entries yet.
Please enter the code
* Required fields

My novels:

Just released December 2016: "The Forgotten" volume 2 "Heir of the Heretic"

Reviewed and awarded the

2016 Indie Editor's Choice

by the Historical Novel Society.

Long listed for the Historical Novel Society 2017 Indie Award.

Reviewer for:

Historical Novel Society Volunteer

NetGalley Professional Reader

Reviews Published
25 Book Reviews
Challenge Participant

Top Goodreads Reviewer

my read shelf:
J. Else's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
J. has read 27 books toward her goal of 63 books.
hide

Goodreads profile at: https://www.goodreads.com/JElse

Print Print | Sitemap
© Jessi Hafeman