Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!
Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!

Justice in an Age of Metal and Men

By Anthony W. Eichenlaub

 

In an age when Texan independence, neglect, and technology have ushered in a new age of lawlessness, small town sheriff Jasper Davis Crow holds the line of justice in the town of Dead Oak.

Longhorns trample a rancher in what appears to be a brutal accident. The new deputy from Austin is convinced that it's murder and J.D. is inclined to agree when their investigation uncovers a bizarre conspiracy.

This book has a great narrative that is delightfully sarcastic. I enjoyed the way the story unfolds. There's also a sneaky sub-plot which is hinted at throughout the book which becomes very significant by the end leading readers to believe and look forward to a second book in this world. The undercurrent in the narrative was intriguing and kept me guessing.


Eichenlaub offers up a futuristic world seen through the eyes of a character that is very "old school" cowboy. You have a relatable main character in an unfamiliar world which helps guide the reader through this dystopian-like future. There are lots of interesting tech in this world. I think a lot more will be explored if there is a book two.

Eichenlaub's title character, J.D., while very cowboy-ish is also not your stereotypical cowboy. I appreciated the moments of vulnerability and growth that Eichenlaub explored with this character. I liked how the relationship between J.D. & Trish changed through the story also. I think she'll be an excellent character to explore in the future!

There are a few things I did not like. One was a cigarette-smoking 11 year old. The other was the religious fanatical element of the story. There was a good amout of religious slamming and not a good character counterpoint to the fanaticism. I had hoped more Hopi would have come in to play, and I think it will if this becomes a series. However, I tire of crazy religious leaders who have clearly not read the New Testament or anything Jesus taught.

Overall, Eichenlaub is a great storyteller. He masterfully laces subtle hints along the current of the main story to create a multi-layered plot structure. He creates unique characters and an interesting setting. I look forward to more from this author.

My novels:

Just released December 2016: "The Forgotten" volume 2 "Heir of the Heretic"

Reviewed and awarded the

2016 Indie Editor's Choice

by the Historical Novel Society.

Long listed for the Historical Novel Society 2017 Indie Award.

Reviewer for:

Historical Novel Society Volunteer

NetGalley Professional Reader

Reviews Published
25 Book Reviews
Challenge Participant

Top Goodreads Reviewer

my read shelf:
J. Else's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
J. has read 27 books toward her goal of 63 books.
hide

Goodreads profile at: https://www.goodreads.com/JElse

Print Print | Sitemap
© Jessi Hafeman