Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!
Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!

Retrospection

By, S.L. Wallace

When Claire wakes up in the hospital, she discovers a stranger in her room who only she can see and hear. Learning Jhidhai's secrets will take her on a journey through both time and space. But Claire has secrets of her own—secrets that will lead her toward a destination she would never have imagined.

A beautifully crafted novella. S.L. Wallace stirs together a thoughtful and emotional blend of historical fantasy and paranormal.

The plot weaves back and forth in time as past choices are brought to bear and the influence of our lives on others is examined by the main characters. The narrative is carefully constructed to reveal intriguing snippets which keep you guessing until the very end. I didn't want to put my Kindle down!

The only critique I would give is that at times it was hard to determine the voice in the historical chapters. Points of view occasionally switched between people, which was not always apparent at first. I had to re-read a few spots to orient myself to the new person speaking the narrative.

I enjoyed the paranormal speculation of a "librarians" recording humanity, and I liked the ideas about preserving memories, which in a philosophical sense, thus gives meaning to the struggles and triumphs of lives/groups of people gone by. Claire points this out in a couple chapters about how some tragedies are remembered and honored while others are forgotten like the Chicago versus the Peshtigo fire. Everyone's heard of the Great Chicago Fire of 1871, but this was my first time reading about the Great Peshtigo Fire of 1871.

This author has brought together a very intelligent and creative look at the meaning of life, honoring our memories, and not being afraid to make choices. What influences our choices? What causes one moment to be forgotten and another to be embraced by the culture? S.L. Wallace will take you on a journey to explore just a few of those questions. I would highly recommend you take a walk with the author.

My novels:

Just released December 2016: "The Forgotten" volume 2 "Heir of the Heretic"

Reviewed and awarded the

2016 Indie Editor's Choice

by the Historical Novel Society.

Long listed for the Historical Novel Society 2017 Indie Award.

Reviewer for:

Historical Novel Society Volunteer

NetGalley Professional Reader

25 Book Reviews
Challenge Participant

Top Goodreads Reviewer

Goodreads profile at: https://www.goodreads.com/JElse

Quick things to share...

Oh how this makes me laugh! 

Just so funny!!!  Grumpy Old Angels?

Its funny, and you know it!
Print Print | Sitemap
© Jessi Hafeman