Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!
Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!

The Caldarian Conflict

by Mike Kalmbach

Admiral Cain finds an elegant solution to Caldaria's piracy problem: lure pirate ships to decoy merchant vessels stuffed with explosives instead of treasure. The suicidal captains are military men with fatal illnesses. The unsuspecting crews are poor men enticed from the gutters of Caldaria with the promise of handsome wages and free meals. Cain considers it a dual service--after all, he's protecting the merchants and sweeping the streets clean of vagrants.

There are only two problems: if the peasants find out, they'll revolt. If the King finds out, he'll have Cain's head. Accordingly, anyone with too much knowledge must die.

Mike Kalmbach creates a vast world, and his plotline run through the multiple layers of society. From pirates to monks to army elite, there are a variety of characters that readers encounter. Kalmbach questions the traditional definitions of heroes vs. villains. 

My favorite scenes were those of the monks. I loved their thoughtful musings. I also very much enjoyed the history of the religious orders. I hope Kalmbach elaborates on the religious history in his next book.

"The Caldarian Conflict" is a well paced story with a great cast of characters. At its heart is a monk who seeks only to help others. It is a quest for truth and justice wrapped within an exciting adventure.

Comments

There are no entries yet.
Please enter the code
* Required fields

My novels:

Just released December 2016: "The Forgotten" volume 2 "Heir of the Heretic"

Reviewed and awarded the

2016 Indie Editor's Choice

by the Historical Novel Society.

Long listed for the Historical Novel Society 2017 Indie Award.

Reviewer for:

Historical Novel Society Volunteer

NetGalley Professional Reader

25 Book Reviews
Challenge Participant

Top Goodreads Reviewer

my read shelf:
J. Else's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
J. has read 27 books toward her goal of 63 books.
hide

Goodreads profile at: https://www.goodreads.com/JElse

Print Print | Sitemap
© Jessi Hafeman