Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!
Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!

The Guardian, a Sword, & Stilettos

by Kristin D Van Risseghem

Zoe Jabril could be just another 17-year-old girl attending parties with her friends and checking out cute guys—except her best friend is a Guardian Angel, and the boy she crushes on is a Nephilim, half-angel, both sent to Earth to protect her. A high school classmate happens to be a trendsetting shopaholic fairy. And now there’s a new werewolf in town.

Very creative and fun book. I'm very excited for more from these characters. It was a page turner.

Van Risseghem does a great job creating characters. They have unique voices and complement each other well.

There are a few times in the book where the author does not always connect how characters get from one point to another. Right at the first page, the two main characters somehow get into a coffee shop and are in line to order. However, I had no idea when they got there. So while the internal thought processing of the main character introducing you to the world was well done, the movements of the characters were not well mapped in the narrative. It is understood later in the book that this is a routine for the characters, but at the beginning of the book I almost did not get past the first couple pages because I could not figure out what was going on and where. So the beginning could have been better explained and slowed a bit.

I really like the concept of angels, the prophecy, and the spaces between heaven and earth. I loved learning about the fairies too! There were so many elements that I look forward to learning more about when I get to the novellas.

There was a heavy element of romance. I'm not a big romance reader, but the author made it overall cute and enduring.

This is a very well done book. I am excited for the second installment. Exciting stuff to come! Boy, was there a big moment in the last few pages for the characters!!!

My novels:

Just released December 2016: "The Forgotten" volume 2 "Heir of the Heretic"

Reviewed and awarded the

2016 Indie Editor's Choice

by the Historical Novel Society.

Long listed for the Historical Novel Society 2017 Indie Award.

Reviewer for:

Historical Novel Society Volunteer

NetGalley Professional Reader

Reviews Published
25 Book Reviews
Challenge Participant

Top Goodreads Reviewer

my read shelf:
J. Else's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
J. has read 27 books toward her goal of 63 books.
hide

Goodreads profile at: https://www.goodreads.com/JElse

Print Print | Sitemap
© Jessi Hafeman