Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!
Proud to be a tea-sippin' nerd of a mommy!

Two Rivers - By Zoe Saadia

(The Great Peacemaker Series, Book #1)

Having survived the failed raid on the enemy lands, Tekeni had no illusions. He was nothing but an enemy cub, adopted into one of the clans, but not accepted, never for real. To fit in was difficult, to run away – impossible. To get into trouble, more often than not, was the only available option. They did not expect anything else from him, anyway.

However, when a meaningless row during a ballgame grew out of proportion, resulting in a fight, Tekeni has found himself in a truly grave trouble. Neither he nor anyone else could have foreseen the chain of events the consequences of this fight would release, when the highly esteemed but controversial Two Rivers decided to help Tekeni out.

Saadia's books possess a two-fold magic: diverse characters and enchanting settings. Saadia has such a fantastic way of bringing to life her historical settings. I love feeling so immersed in the history. This book also has a great cast of characters. The plot is extremely character driven. Saadia slowly sprinkles in background details for her MCs throughout the story--it keeps you flipping the pages! Such a unique story in a little-explored time and place that I enjoyed very much. I look forwar Saadia's books possess a two-fold magic: diverse characters and enchanting settings. Saadia has such a fantastic way of bringing to life her historical settings. I love feeling so immersed in the history. This book also has a great cast of characters. The plot is extremely character driven. Saadia slowly sprinkles in background details for her MCs throughout the story--it keeps you flipping the pages! Such a unique story in a little-explored time and place that I enjoyed very much. I look forward to book 2! Big things are coming!

ACross the Great Sparkling Water (Peacemaker #2)

To live in captivity, adopted by the enemies of her people, or to break the law and tradition by running away?  That question did not occur to Onheda until after she fled Little Falls on the spur of the moment, against any better judgment.

 

Embarking upon her dangerous journey, she never expected to cross the path of the man who came to change the world of her people and their enemies alike. Who was he? A mysterious foreigner from across the Great Sparkling Water, a man with unusual ideas or the Messenger of the Great Spirits? And was he about to change her life, too?

Saadia does it again, bringing to life historical people and places with ease. This book builds even more tension from the first and was definitely a page turner. Her characters are great, and we are introduced to new characters along with greeting familiar favorites from book 1. 

I love the way the spiritual and physical worlds come alive through Saadia's historical characters. The author provides great historical details which I delight reading--these are the things that make a book of hist fic go from good to great. From clothing to preparing food to cursing your enemies to the way meetings were conducted, Saadia has done her homework!

The Peacemaker series is highly recommended! I look forward to book 3 along with anything else by this author. She is great at creating complex characters while vividly making history come alive as you read!

My novels:

Just released December 2016: "The Forgotten" volume 2 "Heir of the Heretic"

Reviewed and awarded the

2016 Indie Editor's Choice

by the Historical Novel Society.

Long listed for the Historical Novel Society 2017 Indie Award.

Reviewer for:

Historical Novel Society Volunteer

NetGalley Professional Reader

25 Book Reviews
Challenge Participant

Top Goodreads Reviewer

my read shelf:
J. Else's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

2017 Reading Challenge

2017 Reading Challenge
J. has read 27 books toward her goal of 63 books.
hide

Goodreads profile at: https://www.goodreads.com/JElse

Print Print | Sitemap
© Jessi Hafeman